bullseyeglass.com • View topic - Cutting Opal glasses

Cutting Opal glasses

For discussion of processes related to using Bullseye glass, including kilnforming and kilncasting, torchwork, blowing and stained glass.

Cutting Opal glasses

Postby cjalexander » Thu Dec 03, 2009 4:23 pm

I've been cutting and fusing for over 4 years, and lately have been having major problems with several of the opal glasses. No matter how good the score sounds, and no matter which direction I try to cut the glass or which of my 3 Toyo cutters I use, I could not get a single good break out of a half sheet of Opaque White. Same with a half sheet of Periwinkle, and also one of Gold Purple. Very frustrating and very expensive.

Other glass fusing friends have expressed the same problems. Is there anyone who might be able to offer some advice, suggestions, help? It would be sincerely appreciated.

Thanks!

Connie
Sequim, WA
cjalexander

Re: Cutting Opal glasses

Postby marykaynitchie » Thu Dec 03, 2009 4:32 pm

Hi Connie,

I checked with our technicians (who also frequently teach glass cutting and get a lot of practice around here) and here is what they suggest:

If you've had success cutting this glass in the past and are suddenly struggling, one possibility is that your glass may be cold – the weather has recently gotten much colder, and cold glass, particularly opal glass, is much more difficult to cut. One of our techs had the same problem the first time he went to teach in Scotland (in the warm middle of summer, ha!). He put the glass in front of the heater for about an hour and suddenly cutting was very easy again.

That would be a place to start. If that rings no bells (because you are storing your glass and working with it in a heated space) then we’ll need to dig deeper.