bullseyeglass.com • View topic - Making frit balls out of translucent & dichroic glass

Making frit balls out of translucent & dichroic glass

For discussion of processes related to using Bullseye glass, including kilnforming and kilncasting, torchwork, blowing and stained glass.

Making frit balls out of translucent & dichroic glass

Postby amycsalo » Tue Feb 14, 2017 1:47 pm

Hello everyone! I am fairly new to fusing and I have been making a bunch of frit balls out of opal coarse frit and they have been turning out fantastic. I tried the same firing schedule with some transparent coarse frit and it did little to nothing to make the frit "ball" up. It just looks like slightly less sharp frit with some sparse balls here and there. I have a 22" square Jen Ken Kiln and I have tried firing at AFAP to1500 with a 10 minute hold then off, AFAP to 1525 with a 15 minute hold then off and AFAP to 1525 with a 30 minute hold then off, all with no luck. I am using thin fire shelf paper to fire them on. The colors vary but the result is the same with all of my attempts. Any thoughts on what I should try next?

I have also had trouble with making dichroic "dots" out of 6 mm wide sizzle stix that I nipped into little squares with my nippers. Either they don't ball up, or they ball up but the dichroic coating cracks on the top. The glass is fine it is just the coating that gets a tiger stripped or zebra appearance. I am using the same schedules as listed above with no success. This is an expensive experiment :D

Any suggestions would be GREATLY appreciated. Thank you SOOO much!!

Amy
amycsalo

Re: Making frit balls out of translucent & dichroic glass

Postby marykaynitchie » Thu Feb 16, 2017 9:52 am

Hi Amy,

Use shelf primer instead of Thinfire to make frit balls. That might be the cause of the trouble with the transparent ones.