bullseyeglass.com • View topic - Fixing fiber paper texture

Fixing fiber paper texture

For discussion of processes related to using Bullseye glass, including kilnforming and kilncasting, torchwork, blowing and stained glass.

Fixing fiber paper texture

Postby ryssmiles » Sun Mar 18, 2018 9:02 am

Hello, I'm a newbie to fusing and have only had my kiln for a month. I've been reading a ton and watching lots of videos, but I still have tons to learn and I'm hoping you can help me.

I cut an 11 inch circle that I intend to slump as a bowl and fired it at a full fuse. Then I decided that it was too bland and needed some stringers so I put it back in for another full fuse with decoration. But being distracted I grabbed fiber paper (which I had purchased but never used) instead of my usual thinfire. When I opened the kiln the I discovered that the fiber paper had stuck to the glass and left a deeply pitted texture. So I cleaned it really carefully, flipped it so the textured side was up, treated it with Devit spray and refired for a third full fuse expecting it to smooth back out, but to my surprise the glass is still deeply textured. The textured side was originally going to be the inside of the bowl, but now I'm thinking it should probably become the outside instead. I'm guessing I'm pushing the limits on firing the piece so I'm planning on cold working by hand to remove the texture, but I have two questions.

1) For best results do I cold work before slumping or after?
2) Can you explain to me why the top was still textured after a full fuse?

Thank you!
ryssmiles

Re: Fixing fiber paper texture

Postby edwardcantarella » Mon Mar 19, 2018 7:48 am